SMB sponsors the Comedy Women in Print Awards

18th April 2023

SMB were delighted to attend the Comedy Women in Print Awards at The Groucho.

Congratulations to the Awards founder Helen Lederer for a fantastic initiative that celebrates the best female comedy writing. The Awards were set up in 2019 to help open doors and kick-start the careers of gifted comedy writers. In a recent interview, Helen said: “I wanted to put something out there that acknowledged that witty women’s content has had less visibility and celebration across the board. It’s about reflecting the times, and what can be done to shine a light.”

It was great to see established female talent such as Jo Brand and Sharon Horgan in attendance to support fresh and upcoming women writers and receive well-deserved recognition for their own achievements. Sharon Horgan won the Witty Impact Writer Award, while Jo Brand won the Game Changer Award. Nikki May also won on the night earning the New Voice Award with her book Wahala which is soon to be a television series.

From the SMB team, Natalie Wright, Emma Linch, and Blaise Gaymer attended. We are proud to have supported the awards and congratulate all who were recognised at the event.

Sharon Horgan at the Comedy Women in Print Awards

Sharon Horgan – Winner of the Witty Impact Writer Award

Nikki May at the Comedy Women in Print Awards

Nikki May – Winner of the New Voice Award

Jo Brand at the Comedy Women in Print Awards

Jo Brand – Winner of the Game Changer Award